Uncategorized

Car singing and Jason Mraz

Today I got to take a little road trip on behalf of work. My assignment was to cover a Chamber of Commerce meeting on South Padre Island. To me, “the Island” (as it is simply referred to here) is probably one of the best parts of living in deep South Texas. It’s so gorgeous and wonderful there, but moving on…

20120713-003527.jpg

What you’re looking at is a photo from my drive out. It was just me, a lovely stretch of road and sky, and the Civil Wars CD playing in my car. Which brings me to this confession: I am a car singer. Rather, a car belter. If it’s an iffy song on the radio, I’ll abstain, but give me a good song and I don’t care if the person next to me at the stop light notices. So today it was me, the Civil Wars and Jason Mraz on the road together. If you haven’t listened to the Civil Wars before, stop what you’re doing and look up “Poison and Wine” or “To Whom It May Concern” this second. You’ll thank me later.

But Jason Mraz… I am obsessed with “I Won’t Give Up” right now. Remember when he was just a dorky guy who sang “Geek in the Pink”?

So in closing, I ask: 1) Am I the only shameless car singer out there? 2) Was I wrong to doubt Jason Mraz and his musical abilities long ago?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Car singing and Jason Mraz

  1. Christy says:

    Totally not the only one. I car sing all the time too. Which is the primary reason I always check my phone before pulling out as I have butt-dialed my mother and she listened for my entire ride home. Then it became a freak-out of trying to remember if I was singing (or talking to myself which I also sometimes do in the car) and if I had the radio so loud that maybe it just blended in. I’m still not sure :-/

  2. Gary says:

    I believe that is the first time I heard that Mraz song (I Won’t Give Up) in its entirety. That is a great tune lyrically, vocally and musically. Actually he has an awesome voice, which made the Geek song not too bad.

Tell me your thoughts

