Uncategorized

Aurora, movies, and not living in fear

I really don’t know what to say. I doubt I can say anything more profound, moving or heartbreaking than what I’ve already read today.

I didn’t know anyone at the theater in Aurora today, or even know anyone who knew anyone who knew anyone. But I needed to blog because I felt like I was suffocating all day under the heavy sadness, and blogging is the only way I can release it.

Going to the movie theater is something almost everyone enjoys. You go, you escape the world around you for a few hours, usually stare at some people on the screen who are much more attractive than anyone you know in real life, and you eat popcorn. It’s an escape, a journey, a fantasy.

But similar to flying after 9/11, now there’s hesitation about going to the movies.

I don’t want to let one evil person destroy that for me. It’s not that I can’t live without movies, because I can. It’s about standing up and being with friends still and not letting something awful have the final say. Will I probably be on edge a little later tonight? Sure. Will I be doing a lot more deep thinking about the themes in the movie than before? Probably. Will I go and enjoy myself and the movie regardless? Absolutely.

My thoughts and prayers are with all who are living through the horror in Colorado. It’s a small, insignificant tribute, but I’m going to the movies to show my support tonight.

20120720-181347.jpg
Credit: Mark Randal

Standard

Tell me your thoughts

