Uncategorized

My life now (and where to go from here)

It’s been awhile, I know. A lot has happened over the past few weeks, though. I started a new job (that I LOVE!). I am still settling into my life back home (which I also love!). I am figuring out what my life looks like from this point on (still a work in progress!).

I’ve been doing a lot of deep thinking today, which I’ll blame on a relaxing Saturday. Mumford & Sons and this song have been playing in the background. I’ve been reading. And thinking.

Somehow, my life has both ended up being exactly what I thought it’d be and then at the same time not at all. That sounds confusing, but I promise it makes sense in my head.

See, I always knew–from the time I was like 15–that I wanted to have a career. Do something big. Make my mark. Etc. And I knew I wanted to travel and live away from home for part of that time. And up to this point, I’ve done just that. I lived in DC for an internship. I moved to Texas for two years shortly thereafter. I’m back home in a job I love. I feel pretty independent, strong, confident, etc. When I want something, I usually go for it with full gusto. I don’t make apologies for who I am.

On the flip side, when I was a freshman in college, my vision of life also altered slightly and I may have gotten caught up in the whole “college is where you find your SOULMATE” thing. So, at that point, I thought I’d be married by this point. Or something like that. But that has totally not happened for me. And I’m not really complaining, because I know it’ll happen, if it’s supposed to happen, at the right time. And maybe things are already in motion for something to happen. Or maybe not. That’s part of the excitement of life, I suppose. God likes to keep me on my toes like that!

In the meantime, I’m trying to best figure out how to live this life I’ve been given. Because I haven’t been that girl who sits around waiting for Prince Charming to show up while doing nothing with her life in the meantime besides knitting and collecting kittens. And I don’t plan to be that girl anytime soon.

So I guess what I’m wondering is how to go about setting real, attainable goals. Because I want to live even more than I already do.

For now, I’ll post this inspiring quote (that I want for my wall) and this song (that I just love).

Image

Standard

Tell me your thoughts

