Uncategorized

I did something crazy (I tried oil pulling)

I tried something crazy today. I was desperate. I gave oil pulling a shot.

Now, I should preface all of this by saying: I’m not a hippie (not that there’s anything wrong with hippies necessarily). I don’t hug trees. I’m not into holistic stuff really (if I can get meds to take away my pain, I’ll do it). 

But today I decided to give it a try because my sinuses were killing. I had tried allergy pills and pain relievers. Nothing was cutting it, and I’ve been fighting it for two days now. So I was willing to go a little crazy if it meant I could get relief.

I had heard about oil pulling from a friend. Basically, you take 1/2 to 1 tablespoon of coconut oil or another virgin oil (like sunflower, etc.) and swish it around in your mouth for 15 to 20 minutes. Sounds a little cray, I know. But supposedly doing that grabs toxins and bacteria that reside in your mouth (gross, right?), and you get rid of them by spitting the oil out in the garbage (not your sink because it will clog your pipes) after 15-20 minutes.

I did some research on it and a bunch of the posts said things like “This made me feel so much better!” And I wondered to myself, If this is so amazing, why have I only heard about it now?

So I gave it a try. And I found out A) why I hadn’t heard about it before and B) if it actually did anything.

To answer A, it’s probably because it’s kind of nasty. It honestly felt like I was swishing Crisco in my mouth for the first 5 minutes. Ick. But I set a timing and was determined to make it all 15 minutes, disgusting or not. If you have a strong gag reflex, this may not work out for you. You’re not supposed to gargle it, so every time it got near my throat, I freaked out a little. It’s not the most pleasant experience I’ve ever had.

To answer B, be it real or psychological, it seemed to work. After my 15 minutes, I definitely felt less pressure in my cheekbone area. As an added bonus, my gums seemed to feel better, too. I had read that the coconut oil has a lot of value to it because it helps rejuvenate and strengthen teeth and gums while it does its other work. 

Keep in mind, this was a one time experience for me. I’ll try it again the next time I’m fighting pain and will post if the results differ.

But, for now, as insane as it may sound, it worked.

Standard

One thought on “I did something crazy (I tried oil pulling)

  1. jacquelinegardner says:

    I know everybody think it’s cray-cray, but I’ve done oil pulling w/ coconut oil for a while now, mostly for my teeth! It’s supposed to help with gum health and decrease cavities. Seems to be working…I haven’t had any problems at my dental visits as of late!

Tell me your thoughts

