Uncategorized

To the year 26

Image

Well, here we are. Another day, another birthday, another year of life to be thankful for.

I was doing some deep thinking about birthdays last night as I also started to doze off my couch (because am I actually 100 years old?) and realized that I now view them entirely differently than I did when I was a kid. My parents, being the wonderful people they are, made birthdays a pretty big deal growing up–we got off school, my dad took off work, we got to go to a restaurant of our choice (usually Old Country Buffet because ENDLESS ICE CREAM SUNDAES). Once I hit the adult world, it was a bit of culture shock of “You mean the world DOESN’T stop revolving because it’s my birthday?!”

But instead I’ve come to realize birthdays are actually a bit BETTER when you’re an adult. Because even though the world doesn’t stop revolving, a birthday is a wonderful, beautiful day of being showered with love. I woke up this morning to a video message from my friend in Seattle, along with other texts and messages. Adult birthdays don’t suck, guys!

I’ve had a BIT of a hard time accepting that I’m officially closer to 30 than 20 now, but looking back on the year 25 made me really happy for the progress I made in the past year. It probably was my biggest year as far as doing things I wanted to do and figuring out who I am as a person.

A few highlights:

And looking ahead to the year 26, I already have some big plans. I am hoping to travel to visit some friends, write more, branch out more, etc. So here’s to 26!

PS: In lieu of traditional birthday gifts, I’m instead requesting donations towards my Costa Rica mission trip this year. If you would like to donate, you can do so online here!

Standard

Tell me your thoughts

